Lunar Eclipse!

This one will be neat because everyone in North America can see it and it happens on the Winter Solstice, the longest night of the year.

Moon during lunar eclipse

Mark your calendars.

See for yourself on Dec. 21st, the first day of northern winter, when the full Moon passes almost dead-center through Earth’s shadow. For 72 minutes of eerie totality, an amber light will play across the snows of North America, throwing landscapes into an unusual state of ruddy shadow.

The eclipse begins on Tuesday morning, Dec. 21st, at 1:33 am EST (Monday, Dec. 20th, at 10:33 pm PST). At that time, Earth’s shadow will appear as a dark-red bite at the edge of the lunar disk. It takes about an hour for the “bite” to expand and swallow the entire Moon. Totality commences at 02:41 am EST (11:41 pm PST) and lasts for 72 minutes.

This entry was posted in Awesome. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lunar Eclipse!

  1. breda says:

    I hope Cleveland has a clear night!

  2. Tracie says:

    Breda, just in case the clouds aren’t clear:

Comments are closed.